neon numbers


Carey Olsen is one of the only offshore firms to have FinTech departments ranked by Chambers and Partners across Bermuda, BVI, Cayman and Jersey.

We have been at the forefront of developments in the digital asset and cryptocurrency sectors in the jurisdictions in which we operate. Our lawyers have been involved in the creation of sector specific legislation and regulation and have helped clients obtain licenses or registrations to conduct digital asset business services. This gives us a unique insight into how governments and regulators are finding ways to provide security, certainty and credibility in the sector.

Our lawyers have advised on numerous novel digital asset businesses, including the launch of the world’s first Bitcoin investment fund, the first Ethereum denominated fund, the world’s first digital asset exchange traded fund, as well as non-fungible token (NFTs) trading platforms, decentralised finance (defi) protocols and decentralised autonomous organisations (DAOs) structured offshore, often using Cayman foundation companies. We regularly establish and provide ongoing advice to many of the largest crypto focused funds in the industry.

"Exceptional service backed by excellent industry knowledge" – The Legal 500

We have excellent relationships with the regulators in our jurisdictions and have been advising technology clients in multiple locations on a broad range of areas, including intellectual property, data protection, regulation and licensing, financing and investment projects, payment services, employment issues, and mergers and acquisitions. We advise on the effects of the GDPR and are involved in helping shape the legislation affecting businesses in the Channel Islands. We regularly provide training and host industry seminars on these issues.

We work with all of the leading onshore firms and many well-known clients in the fintech and digital assets space.

Find a Lawyer

  • Matthew Brehaut
  • Tom Carey
  • Chris Duncan
  • Christopher Griffin
  • Elizabeth Killeen
  • Anthony McKenzie
  • Michael Padarin
  • Steven Rees Davies